A Parisienne in London

Wow. I knew before I went abroad that placing travel amongst my future plans as an adult would be important to me, but I was not prepared for how this time away from the States would make me shift that priority to the very top of my list.

If there is one shard (haha, get it? Like the London Shard) of advice I, even as a young 20-year-old young woman, can possibly give you is this: go travel. Please get out there and embrace the fear that comes along with breaking out of your comfort zone. There is nothing more rewarding, fulfilling, and eye-opening you can possibly do for yourself. Do not let your world be confined to the buildings and walls of your university campus, job, or hometown. Do not narrow your views based on what your personal experiences have watered down to. Allow yourself to see that there is more to this life than remaining in your own country, state, and city. Realize that there are people out there with jarring stories that differ vastly from your own, whose physical reflections do not resemble yours, and who live completely opposite lives from what you are comfortable with. Acknowledge that this is true beauty.

On that note, this past week was “Winter Break” at ESCP (yes, the French love their vacations.) So, my newfound friends and I decided to travel to London and Amsterdam. It was my first time planning, paying, and taking full responsibility and independence for a trip ever. Traveling with friends is much different from simply going with your family, and if you have yet to do so, you should try it out! It’s not as scary as you might think.

I decided that I wanted to make a video to document my trip to London, so during my time there, I simply whipped out my phone for a few seconds (as often as I could remember to do so) and took a short clip of my surroundings. I didn’t want to distract myself too much by it, and did my best to embrace the present moment. In any case, here it is. Enjoy 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

