Dessert-ing the Days Away

 photo studyabroaddessert2_zpsdc13e2d7.jpg

 photo recipe2_zps656ef095.jpg I’ll admit when I thought about blogging for study abroad, I didn’t think it would  be anything of a challenge, really. I’ve been a wordsmith for as long as I can  remember, crafting expository essays, geeking about grammar, and reading more  novels than I can count. Things like this come naturally to me, so I was surprised  when I realized it’s three weeks until the end of the semester and I’ve only blogged  twice. Why, you ask? Well the vast majority of my time here has been spent  creating what would be the subjects of my posts. It seems trivial, but you have to  live your experiences to be able to write about them. But unfortunately, by the time I’d lived one adventure, I was already on to the next. Sounds like a rough life, I know, but it’s amazing to think about how much time has slipped by and how close it already is to the end. It’s a shame that I’ll have to cram the last month into one post, but alas, I’ll trudge onward and play with the cards I’ve dealt myself.

I’m sure you can guess that my last month has been spent traveling and eating far more than I should. I’ve pretty much thrown caution to the wind as far as dieting, but really who goes to Europe for the first and goes on a diet? My personal MO for immersing myself in a culture is through eating its dessert, and there was no way I was going to be able to do that if all I thought about was a diet. But hey, that’s what the semester after study abroad is for, yeah?

Since I last wrote, I’ve been on a constant weekend tour of western Europe. I spent a weekend in Paris, the next in Dublin, the next in London (where I had the pleasure of watching the Cowboys play the Jaguars at Wembley Stadium), and the next in Copenhagen, the next Edinburgh, and back to London for a day. Last weekend I cooked a lovely Thanksgiving meal for some of my fellow international student friends who’d only ever seen Thanksgiving on TV.

I could go into detail about each trip but then this post would be painstakingly long, so I’ll just share some of the pictures (featuring desserts, of course!) and let them do the talking. I will, however, include some highlights and let you imagine their contexts:

    • Paris: Climbing the Arc de Triomphe and taking in the amazing panoramic view of the city
    • Dublin: Taking a driving/exploring tour of the film locations of P.S. I Love You and Braveheart
    • London: Cowboys game. Duh.
    • Copenhagen: Most unforgettably hilarious bike ride of my entire life with two of my best friends from Texas.
    • Edinburgh: Spending time at the Edinburgh Christmas Market and the Royal Britannia.
    • London: Finding Libby’s Pumpkin Pie filling in a London Whole Foods.

 photo IMG_3726_zpsc9cb4559.jpg  photo IMG_4274_zps42e708db.jpg  photo IMG_3778_zpsfac93530.jpg
 photo IMG_4330_zpsebdd0c0d.jpg  photo IMG_4031_zpsfed641f3.jpg 

But of course I’ll also share with you the third installation of “Funny Things People Have Said to Me/Asked Me Because I’m From America,” which I’ll admit has become my favorite part of every post. If any of the people who have said these things to me are reading this, know that I include it out of pure amusement and enjoyment.

Friend: You lot debate about midterm elections and we’re over here debating how to pronounce the word “scone.”

Friend: Morgan, you’re from Texas…so do you have a gun?

Friend: I have another ignorant question about America.
Me: Go for it!
Friend: Why is everyone so fascinated with those red plastic cups?
It took me a good while to figure out he was talking about Red Solo Cups.

UK Border Agent: Ah you’re from Texas, where Johnny Manziel is from, yes?
Me: Yeah but he went to my school’s rival school.
UK Border Agent: So you’re the sane ones then.

Cheers!

Morgan

Leave a Reply

