Avventura in Italia: Week 1

I could not have asked for a better first week in Milan. It was filled with new places, faces, experiences, and a ton of fun. I am lucky to have a great group of Longhorns to spend my semester with, as well as the new friends we’ve made together. It’s been a surprisingly extremely easy transition – the only obstacle tends to be the language barrier, but with the language class I’m taking I hope to be able to communicate better as time goes on. As a Jersey girl who left home for UT, I have concluded that I felt more of a culture shock going to Texas than coming here. However I’ve also concluded that the reason for that is the food- I have no reason to miss my home food when there’s pizza, pasta, figs, and prosciutto every step I take.

IMG_9295

So in one week- I’ve eaten a lot of food, made a lot of friends, learned [a lot?] of Italian, and visited some extremely cool places. We’ve made our way around the city using the trams and metro, to go to the Duomo and city center for shopping.

IMG_9304

I’ve also been able to do a lot of “touristy” things such as going into the cathedrals and museums. But don’t forget to cover up!

IMG_9271

IMG_9330

And last but most certainly not least, I concluded my week with Sunday spent in Lake Como. This was a day trip that the exchange program organized and it was absolutely amazing. It is a quick 1 hour train ride from Milan and I will recommend it to anybody! The scenery is breath taking and the town is quaint yet modern. You have the ability to go up the hillside and look down upon the town and lake tucked around the mountains. I enjoyed photographing it the whole day.

DSC_0185 DSC_0026  DSC_0150DSC_0213

 

And so, my adventure continues. To believe I’ve only been here one week makes me so excited for the rest of the trip and I hope that it goes by slow! Until then – arrivedirci!

Samantha

Leave a Reply

