Week 1 in Hong Kong!

Summer is indeed too short to study abroad! Time flies quickly and by now, I’ve already spent a full week in Hong Kong. Each Saturday, CUHK provides cultural programmes for the students, and this weekend, they took us around the Hong Kong island (HK has separate islands/territories, so just because I’m in Hong Kong, it does not mean I’m on the main island itself).

Stop 1: Avenue of Stars

This is similar to Hollywood Walk of Fame – basically a walkway along the harbour with handprints from Asian celebrities, including Jet Li and Jackie Chan and even a statue of Bruce Lee. It only took us about 45 minutes to finish the trail front and back, and on top of walking, we had to fight the sudden rain of Hong Kong that seems to come in waves (which is why people normally carry an umbrella with them at all times).

Avenue of Stars

Inserting my feet with Jackie Chan's handprints!
Inserting my feet with Jackie Chan’s handprints!

 

 

from the Avenue of Stars side
from the Avenue of Stars side

Stop 2: Stanley Market/area

In order to get to this area, we had to drive underwater (through a tunnel). Minus the windy roads that made me car sick and bumpy traffic, I actually really enjoyed the scenery here. The town area reminded me of Europe and I forgot I was in Asia for a bit! Jackie Chan’s mansion is around here somewhere too. We got to walk around the market for a little bit and enjoy the sea view with friends.

view from the bus ride up the Stanley Bay area
view from the bus ride up the Stanley Bay area
group of friends at the bay side!
group of friends at the bay side!

Stop 3: Victoria Peak

Beautiful view of all of city! Then, it started pouring again, so we weren’t able to enjoy the clear view and the sun hadn’t set in time for us to see the city lights (another time!) Just a little peek at what it could be 🙂

Panorama view from Victoria Peak (under bad weather)
Panorama view from Victoria Peak (under bad weather)

That was just a mini tour of the Hong Kong island, which included many of the touristy spots. Next, I’ll briefly share some photos of other places I’ve gone outside of CUHK tour group. It’s actually convenient to get around Hong Kong without a car, and that’s the best way of learning your way around the city – the MTR. Similar to what Americans would call the subway or train, there are stops and transfers all aroun dthe city, and the map is quite easy to  read. I could say I’ve been around most of the shopping spots/touristy spots that are accessible through MTR.

view from my CUHK dorm :)
view from my CUHK dorm 🙂
streets of Mong Kok (popular shopping spot)
streets of Mong Kok (popular shopping spot)
how I spent my 4th of July!
how I spent my 4th of July!

I’ll be writing a post about the food here soon, so don’t read it when you’re hungry >:)

 

Leave a Reply

