They Say Mate, Not Friend.

I wanted to start by apologizing for not having written in so long. To say that the last few weeks have been hectic is an enormous understatement. To make a very long story short, I just picked up my computer from the Apple store in Bondi Junction, a major shopping district here in Sydney.  My study abroad experience so far has been a rollercoaster of emotions and “interesting” events. I do not want to bore you with the negative side of things, so I will focus on all the good that has happened since I arrived.

There are some things I think I could get used to while I spend my semester in Sydney. Example one, the beach. Never have I been to a beach with such white sand, clear water, or surfer-rich culture. The best part about it all is that it is only about a 25-minute walk from where I live. Below is Coogee, where I spent every day of my first week here while living in a hostel.

Coogee Beach

Downtown Sydney is incredible. Now don’t get me wrong, I love Austin culture as much as the next born Texan, but the architecture and significance of Sydney’s historical district and harbor area are nearly unparalleled. They have the Harbor Bridge and the Sydney Opera House, both architectural icons. There are the Royal Botanical Gardens, probably the most expensive landscape project that I have ever personally experienced. And finally, there are The Rocks, the historic district now filled with old pubs, street performers, a large market, and the world-renown Modern Contemporary Art Museum. And probably the craziest thing about all this is, I have only seen one Starbucks my entire time here. For those of you who have learned about Starbucks’ failure to enter Australia, it may not come as much of a surprise, but it is still a bewilderment to me to find almost no trace of the global giant in such an international, pro-coffee city.

If I am being completely honest, my storytelling abilities are probably best displayed through photography, not writing. This is a large part of why I am doing this blog – to improve on that unfortunate fact. However, while I am still at a loss for words on how to describe my experience thus far, I will leave you with a few pictures and I hope you can begin to share in my Australian travels up to this point. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

