Paris, Je t’aime

Bonjour!

 

Image
Eiffel Tower!

 My name is Abraham, or Abe, and I am a 3rd year Finance & Advertising Dual Degree student at UT studying at ESCP Europe Paris for Spring 2013! I am very excited to share with you all my perspective, my experiences, and my pictures of this lovely city!

I want to start off by saying that this is my first time visiting a country older than the US. I was overwhelmed by the culture, history, and architecture. Moreover, it is very refreshing to be in a country that does not necessarily hold the same values as the US. It makes you reflect on your home country’s values and policies. I recommend to be bold and study abroad, and if you have any questions feel free to reach out to me!

Image
Arc de Triomphe!

I landed 2 weeks ago, and I have yet to completely see all of the city has to offer! However, I have seen quite a lot of the city (getting the “tourist” out of me first by visiting the well known sites 😉 ). As far as my living situation, I am lucky to live with a Parisian friend who has helped immensely in helping me get around the city by being a translator and guide. My French is at the beginner level and even though some people do speak English in Paris, French is very useful to know. I recommend for people to embrace the challenges of moving and communicating within a new country, however. It is a valuable part of the experience!

ESCP Paris is a campus that is integrated within the city of Paris. It is smaller than UT, so it was an adjustment! Nevertheless, I still was lost the first day and a couple of days after. I have not officially started classes yet, but so far I have met wonderful people from all over the world during our orientation week and I am excited to get to know them and other students even better!

The University Entrance

I was surprised by the awesome sales that Paris has during this time. I shopped….a lot (The prices are pretty amazing right now)! I like the style people have here in the city and a few words of advice: be ready to actually use scarves and heavy coats/jackets. (I know, it is not something too common in Texas!) Moreover, if you are a fan of cheese (such as myself), this city has MANY, MANY options for you (at a better price than the US).

Winter Sales!

I am excited to be able to document my experience abroad with you all! Look forward to pictures, anecdotes, cultural experiences, videos, and more! Au revoir!

Leave a Reply

