Gie Uncomfortable

One of the many reasons students go abroad is to travel. Whether to gain experience, expand knowledge, or try new things going abroad means getting lost and uncomfortable. Customs, language, and mannerisms change from city to city. Even the weather in United Kingdom changes every hour. Basically, you can not prepare for what happens while moving and traveling about so you are forced into this wonderful situation in which you can grow.  This is what I am here to do; not change but to amplify who I am.

“When you travel, remember that a foreign country is not designed to make you comfortable. It is designed to make its own people comfortable.” – Clifton Fadman

I have traveled within the United Kingdom a bit with the International Student Centre. I became one of their trip advisers and I volunteer to be a “guide”.  I have met many new people, tried different things, and sat on long bus rides (with no bathroom might I add). We have been to three places since I have been here: St. Andrews, Dumfries, and Aberfeldy.

Each town had something unique to offer:

  1. St. Andrews: a beautiful coast line, the coffee shop where Prince Will and Kate met to have coffee, and two historical buildings (St. AndrewsCathedral and Castle)
  2. Dumfries: Caerlaverock Castle, shopping centres, and the best place to live in Britain ( in 1997, a bit outdated)
  3. Aberfeldy: Dewar’s Distillery (nuff’ said), cute bakeries, and water rafting (we saw many people rafting while it was pouring down rain)
5 thoughts on “Gie Uncomfortable

  1. Hi:
    I am thinking about going to Scotland in spring 2013. However, the recent brutal weather in Europe makes me think otherwise. I lived in south my entire life and I can not handle a 20F-30F place. In addition, I heard that the entire europe was covered in snow right now. Is that true? Thank you

    1. Hello!

      Well first I must tell you that the weather here is not brutal at all. I am fine walking around in tights and a coat, plus it is going to get a bit warmer in the coming months. I, as well, have lived in the south my entire life, but the weather is quite nice here. There really is not to much rain and it has only snowed once since i have been here. I would definitely recommend studying here! Classes are great (less class time), lectures are fun, so many places to go, and it is a hub for travel. About Europe, I would not know, I am in the UK. But it has not snowed here as of late (just a bit of ice). I hope this answered your questions!

      1. Thanks Angela!

        One other question before I put Edinburgh on my application: on Edinburgh’s website, it says the normal course load for one semester is 60 credit which is like 3 class?! What is the maximum amount of credit you can take for one semester. I am kinda behind to graduate, so I really need to take 4-5 classes that satisfy my degree plan. Also, is MAN 336 and FIN 357 offered in Edinburgh this spring?
        Thank you so much and hope you enjoy your time there!

  2. Thanks Angela!

    One other question before I put Edinburgh on my application: on Edinburgh’s website, it says the normal course load for one semester is 60 credit which is like 3 class?! What is the maximum amount of credit you can take for one semester. I am kinda behind to graduate, so I really need to take 4-5 classes that satisfy my degree plan. Also, is MAN 336 and FIN 357 offered in Edinburgh this spring?
    Thank you so much and hope you enjoy your time there!

    1. Sorry for the late response! Yes that is true, you only have to take three classes, but it counts for 12 hours. And you only have 6-10 hours of class time here. I am a duel degree candidate, so it makes it a bit more difficult to graduate in a rush. You may be able to take one more class to make it 16 hours. My classes look like this (MKT 3 credit + 1 credit) + (MKT 3 credit + 1 credit) + (ENG 3 + 1 credit)= 8 hour elective MKT + 3 hour ENG component + 1 extra hour= 12 hours.
      I would suggest checking the online databases for classes: http://www.mccombs.utexas.edu/BBA/IP/Prospective/Courses.aspx and http://www.ed.ac.uk/studying/visiting-exchange/course-finder

      I hope you find this helpful!

Leave a Reply

