Koh Tao

So life in Thailand has been pretty chaotic lately. The flood has made my apartment complex totally inaccessible. I posted a couple pictures of where I live. Classes have been cancelled since the 15th of October I think. They’re supposed to resume on Nov 7th but the flooding situation doesn’t seem to be getting better. Anyways in the mean time, I went to Laos (already wrote a blog about that) and then the day I came back from Laos I took the night train to Koh Tao. I’ve been here for a little over a week and it is so relaxing. The water is turquoise, and the sand is white. It’s heaven on earth. Koh Tao apparently gives out the most diving licenses in the world. I guess it’s a big diving island. Anyways I went snorkeling my second day here and that was quite an experience. I’m not a big fan of swimming in open water just cause im scared of shark…anyways this snorkeling trip took us to 5 different snorkeling sites. The first one was called shark bay…. let me repeat that SHARK BAY!!!! I was not too happy about it when I found out. Anyways, so we get on the boat and they took us there. They told us that in shark bay we have to wear life jackets (they said it was cause of the current but I honestly think it’s cause if we get attacked we’ll float to the top). Anyways so I was shaking cause I was scared but I jumped in with my bright orange life jacket… The guide saw that I was nervous and took me by the hand and we went LOOKING FOR SHARKS… I don’t know why I even agreed to this. We swam around for about 20 mins, looking for a shark and then we saw one. I SAW A SHARK. OMG it was scary, it was taller than me and just swimming about 2 meters away. I’m so proud of myself for not passing out when I saw it. The guide asked me if I wanted to get closer?!!! What kind of question is that???? I would have been fine 100 meters away on the beach. At least I didn’t die!!! The rest of the stops didn’t seem quite as exciting. I saw fish bowls, and I fed fish crackers and pineapple. I got swarmed by beautiful fish and that was a little stressful. They kept biting me, kind of like a fish spa but with bigger fish. The last stop was at the Japanese Garden bay and that was amazing. The water is so clear and I saw this huge rainbow colored fish and this little long skinny fish with a long mouth (it killed another fish in front of me…scary). I was still traumatized by the shark bay that while swimming in this bay I couldn’t help but think that this would be a perfect place for a shark attack. Anyways that was my snorkeling trip. I wish I had brought an underwater camera cause it was beautiful.

The rest of my time here I’ve been swimming or sitting on the beach chilling. It’s so peaceful and the water is really clean, I love it! Anyways, I don’t know what im doing next week. If classes don’t startIi might just have to pick another country to go to….

 

One thought on “Koh Tao

Leave a Reply

