mid semester thoughts!

So today I attended the Pre-departure workshop and I got goose bumps from the excitement I’m feeling about this trip. I can’t wait to be in Thailand surrounded by a culture I know almost nothing about. I met Miraj today (he’s the only other person going to Thailand with me), and he seems really cool. We’re going to have lunch next week to talk about our housing situation as well as the places we want to visit while we’re there.

So here’s what I’m stressed about right now (this list will probably get longer as I get closer to my leave date):

-The Visa situation, like HELLO!!! What happens if I can’t get one, or if for some reason they don’t allow me to go?!!! I’ll be stuck in Austin……

-Where am I going to live next semester? I keep getting mixed advice from everyone. Some people tell me to wait till I get there to look for a place to live while others tell me the opposite… I’m probably going to end up picking a place before I leave so I wont FREAK OUT once I get there.

-Thai seems like a pretty difficult language, I mean like “MA” said with one tone means cow, while with another tone it means dog. I don’t want to be at a restaurant and ask for beef and end up with a dog on the plate(do they even eat dogs over there?).

To be completely honest with you guys I don’t really care about the classes I’m going to be taking in Thailand, as long as I meet my minimum requirements I’ll be good. I just want to travel. Do you guys know how many countries are close to Thailand?!! A LOT! I already made a list of other countries and cities I want to visit: Singapore, Tokyo, Hong Kong, Bangladesh, Cambodia, Laos, and India.  Traveling is what I’m most excited about. I mean how many people do you know that have been able to travel to so many countries in Asia?! Probably not that many!!!

And what about all the different foods, cultures and places to visit? This is a trip I know will change my life and I honestly can’t stop thinking about it. Like I catch myself daydreaming in class about Thai Boxing and Buddha’s.

I can’t wait to start this adventure!! Only three months and 24 days left!!!

Leave a Reply

