First Tour of Milano

My first exploration into Milano today was incredible!  I went to see a few of the major attractions there, namely the Duomo and some of the amazing shops.

The first thing that amazed me was how beautiful EVERY building is.  Not a single building is ugly, and every one is totally unique.  No wonder the Italians just love strolling about without purpose.  I could do the same thing everyday now that I live here.  Also, I must mention how beautiful the people are too.  Just like the buildings, no body is ugly.  I couldn’t even find a fat person!

Around every corner there might be a surprise.  Because the buildings are so tall and the streets so curvy and skinny, you always feel like you are in a tight corridor, and you can’t see much ahead of you.  When you approach the Duomo, all of a sudden you pass a corner and this appears!

And it is just as beautiful inside.  This cathedral was apparently under construction for 500 years before it was finished.  It must be one of the most impressive things I have every seen in my life.

I also just stumble into a castle!  It wasn’t even something I was aware of!

Oh, and I stumbled into the Ferrari store as well, so I decided to eat across the street.  Guess what pulls up in front of the shop…a new Ferrari 458 Italia!  I’m not sure what excited me more, seeing this car or tasting Italian Gelato for the first time.

I’m not sure what this is, but I stumbled into it as well.  Why don’t we have things like this in American cities???

I wish I had more to say about today, but I think I’m still speechless!  This town is so wonderful.  I just can’t wait to see more.

Here is a video of the piazza in front of the Duomo:


Leave a comment